Main page


Gergely Vajda & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra

22 October 2019, 00:00

Gergely Vajda & Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra

Concert finder

Date of concert

Advvanced search


Liszt: Von der Wiege bis zum Grabe – symphonic poem
Ligeti: Cello Concerto


Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E minor, Op. 98


Ditta Rohmann (cello)
Liszt Academy Symphony Orchestra
Conductor: Gergely Vajda

Masters of the Orchestra is the debute series for the symphonic ensemble of current Academy students. The orchestra has been conducted by several  distinguished maestros in the past few years, on this occasion it’s going to be directed by Gergely Vajda, who is also a composer and therefore aknowledged as a contemporary music expert in conducting. First part of the concert consists of Hungary-related works: one composition by Ferenc Liszt and one by György Ligeti. An ink drawing by Mihály Zichy inspired aging Liszt to compose his last symphonic poem From the Cradle to the Grave. György Ligeti’s avant-garde Cello Concerto composed of two movements was born in the 1960s. This evening the solo is going to be played by well known cellist Ditta Rohmann. A more frequently played compositon is coming up after the break: Brahms’ amazing Symphony No. 4.

Latest videos